Be gentle, it’s my first time

Well, here it is. My first blog. And my first blog post. Both epic in their own way.

My blog will consist of the life and times of a husband, a father of three (5 if you count the cats), a low level employee in the corporate world, a hobbyist cook, a video game player and collector, beginner exerciser, and would-be rock god.

Today, I woke up with a hangover, and with legs sore from running (-ish) two miles with my kids. Later this afternoon is football. The Tom Brady Revenge Tour continues with no sign of stopping. My brother will come over with lasagna from my mom, and my wife will be making Apple Crisp. I was supposed to make homemade vanilla ice cream for it but failed in my duties. I love homemade ice cream but it takes a few days to prep.

How about some background?

I am a 41 year old male from New Hampshire. I’ve been in state since I was 5. I’ve been married for 16 years and we have three wonderful boys: 11 (12 in November) and two 9 year old twins. We have two cats that like to stay out at night, despite trying to keep them in. We live in the woods, so coyotes are always an issue. One took our last cat, only 3 years old.

I am a Senior Operational Support Analyst for a large Insurance company, employed 15 years come January 21016. I work in IT and don’t know the first thing about insurance.

I play games almost daily, and have been playing games since as long as I can remember. I got my first console, and Atari 2600, in 1979. I’m playing Fallout: New Vegas for the PS3 right now. I am saving my pennies for a PS4, but would really like to see a price drop first (I am also cheap). I have around 19 consoles, mostly working, in my basement. Favorite system? The Super Nintendo Entertainment System.

I play guitar and drums in a band called Glüten Free. Not at the same time, though; we’re all in our 40’s, with jobs, children, and the crushing sense of adult responsibilities that we often don’t meet with a set line-up each week, so I fill in where I can. We are a cover band, playing mostly punked out versions of popular songs (to us, anyway).

Be gentle, it’s my first time

Leave a Reply

